Younger Brother - The Last Days Of Gravity


Filed Under: , , , ,



Younger Brother was formed in 2003 by Simon Posford and Benji Vaughan. Their particular genre of music is difficult to accurately classify as it suggests many different forms of electronic music without subscribing to a specific style. Their debut album, A Flock of Bleeps, released on the Twisted Records record label has taken on cult status in underground electronica scenes around the world; with the duo drawing crowds from across the globe. Their second album, titled "The Last Days of Gravity" was released on October 15th, 2007. The artwork for the album is made by the legendary Storm Thorgerson (whose work has graced albums by Pink Floyd, Alan Parsons, and Led Zeppelin, among many others).

In 2008, Posford and Benji took "Younger Brother" to Colorado and California on the Twisted Conspiracy Tour. Playing with them in the "Younger Brother Live" band were Marc Brownstein (The Disco Biscuits, Electron) on bass, Tom Hamilton (Brothers Past, The American Babies, Electron) on guitar, and Joe Russo (The Benevento/Russo Duo, Bustle In Your Hedgerow, The American Babies, Electron) on drums. "The Younger Brother Live" band also appeared at Camp Bisco '08.



The Last Days Of Gravity is inspired by the colorful, happy, tripping days of Pink Floyd and Woodstock, brought up-to-date through the Downtempo genre. There are also some of those magical touches and moments that seem so rare in music now days, especially present in the emotive, final number, Psychic Gibbon. Several songs here aren't great in my opinion, but for the most part I find that even the less capturing pieces compliment the other songs; they tell another important chapter to the wonderful story. More work could have gone into making one or two stronger tracks, but the less stand-out tracks aren't bad per say; I expected more with few songs present. The first Younger Brother album was better, in my opinion. It was more fine tuned, and the songs were more powerful and gripping to me. I.e: Track 3 for starters. Nonetheless, these two artists have created another strong release. Such joy may have been a masterpiece with several stronger songs and magic moments, and if the overall package was as musically riveting emotionally, as it is mixed and mastered on a technical level. Overall this is one of the most solid releases of 2007. It's nothing spectacular as a whole, but a friendly, solid [good] follow-up to a cult-gem some refer to by name as "A Flock of Bleeps".


- Page Official -

- LastFm -


01- Happy Pills
02- All I Want
03- Elephant Machine
04- Your Friends Are Scary
05- I Am A Freak
06- Ribbon On A Branch
07- Sleepwalker Part 1
08- Sleepwalker Part 2
09- Psychic Gibbon

::: Megaupload :::

Agregar a Meneame Agregar a Technorati Agregar a Agregar a DiggIt! Agregar a Google Agregar a Reddit Agregar a Blinklist Agregar a Blogmarks

Post Relacionados - Related Post

0 comentarios for this post